There are many reasons one may want to delete their facebook account, one of them may be that you have got a new facebook account or you think you waste too much time on facebook. If you think you will never use your facebook account again, this tutorial explains steps which one can go through to permanent delete their facebook account. Please note that when you delete your facebook account, you can never reactivate it again or retrieve any information on it. Before you delete your account, it is recommended that you first back up or download a copy of your facebook data or info. Read: How To Back Up Your Facebook Data. If you feel you may need your facebook account in future, then you can simply deactivate it temporarily and you can reactivate your account anytime. Read: How To Temporarily Deactivate A Facebook Account.
According to facebook, when you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook and it may take up to a maximum 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you’ve ever posted on facebook for example your photos, your videos, your status updates or other data stored in facebook’s backup systems. While facebook is deleting this information, it becomes inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Also note that some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example even if you delete your account, a friend who once exchanged information like messages will still have access to them from his/her side.
Steps To Permanently Delete A Facebook Account
1. Back Up all your facebook data if you will ever need it in future.
2. Go to Facebook Help Center and search for “Delete Facebook Account” and you find a facebook Help Article explaining how you can delete your facebook account.
3. Open the first article with the title “How do i permanently delete my account?”
4. On the article on the link “Let Us Know” as shown in the image below.
5. Alternatively you can ignore step 4 and straight away CLICK ON THIS LINK.
6. Now for security measures, facebook will ask you to enter you login password which you must put before you proceed to the next step.
7. After entering your password, you will be taken to another page asking you to delete your account. Click on “Delete Account”.
8. Done. You will now be automatically logged out of facebook.
After successful deletion, it will take 14days for facebook to permanently remove your account. During these 14 days, if you change your mind and want to keep your account, you can decide to cancel the deletion process by logging into your account. After 14 days, you will not be able to cancel the deletion process.
When you delete your facebook account, it will completely on facebook and no one will be able to see it, not even by searching it using the facebook search box or engine. If you want to give facebook a break for some time and your want your account not to be visible on facebook, I would that you simply Deactivate Your Account.
If you love this post, please feel free to share it with your friends on social media. Thank you!